Skip to content

Non-Resident Fee Increase


This is a notice about an upcoming increase in our Library Non-Resident fee for patrons who do not reside in the City of Vermillion or Clay County, South Dakota. Our current Non-Resident fee of $15 will be increasing by $10 each January for the next three years. The first increase to $25 will begin on January 1st, 2020. Library cards continue to be valid for one year and must be renewed annually. A family who elects to purchase a Non-Resident card may list a spouse or family member on their card provided they have the same verifiable address.

While evaluating how much it costs taxpayers for Library services, we recalculated the Non-Resident fee to more closely align with what the average taxpayer pays for Library services through their taxes. This way, all library users are contributing an equitable amount for the use of library services.

The South Dakota Public Library Standards we are required to meet in order to maintain our accreditation necessitate that we seek equitable reimbursement for service to persons who do not reside in the political subdivisions providing financial support for the library. These fees are to be at least equal to the per capita rate of income from the political subdivision(s) which provide the library’s principal tax support.

Non-residents do not need a library card to use the Edith B. Siegrist Vermillion Public Library facility. And a library card is not required for any general services, materials, and programs. A library card is, however, required to check out materials and use library electronic resources.

We greatly appreciate your understanding of this necessary change. If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to contact us!